Do you really get what you pay for?

Hi Beauties.
I am not sure what is going on with my skin lately but my foundations do not seem to be sitting well.
I have a few different ones that have worked really well for a while and now well I am baffled.
So it was time to go and try different brands of foundation to see if I could find one that will make me
feel comfortable.
After buying some new ones and trying them out it is now time to review some.
_______________
first on my list and today’s blog is all about:
Collection Matt Ivory no2.
wpid-wp-1446257956396.jpg
I have tried and own a few items from Collection so when I seen this foundation on offer for £4 normal
RRP £6.99 I decided it was worth a shot.
I tried some samples in the shop and Ivory was for me. (note I normally am Ivory in the winter)
Firstly I need to mention that while sampling in the shop the consistency was thick but very smooth,
this gave me the thought that it would be a good coverage and we can get away with thick texture foundations
this time of year, but when I used my product it was quite fine and watery 😦 Strange I know
because isn’t the sample tube suppose to be the same as the product in the full size tubes?
I did shake it each time just to make sure but no it definitely is a watery consistency.
The 2nd thing I noticed was it does have a slight orange tone to it, which we all know is not a great look.
It must have been the lighting in the shop because there was no orange tint when I sampled it,
I did notice a slight orange tint on the darker shades so maybe it was just an over sight on my behalf.
______________
So I have applied the foundation with a foundation brush, a stipple brush and a beauty blender and no matter
what I use I can swear I have the foundation on but you can’t tell. This is definitely not a high coverage base.
I could feel I was wearing it and if I touched my face just with a finger tip it felt wet even after a few hours.
Matt well I have combination skin mostly on the oily side so matte is great when you can get the right one.
This was no way in any form a matte, after I finish I use ELF HD loose powder and it did nothing to help
matte it out. I tried with Rimmel Stay Matte which works great on me but still looked shiny.
Now even if I don’t like something I do try again and again as I don’t like negative products and reveiws,
but once I did my face up and after 10 minutes I had to remove it because I couldn’t handle the wet feel,
walking round with a damp feeling face is not nice, I got some tissues and wiped and it just slides off the face.
_______________
Now I am not saying this won’t work for you but it definitely did not work for me which is a real shame especially
as the price £6.99 is a great price, but then that got me thinking, do you really get what you pay for?
Well actually no. I own £1 lipsticks and £25 lipsticks that work and feel the same way, I have Make Up Academy
foundation that is £2 and works better than this one.
I think it is all about the brand and how they make their products. There are so many brands out there
that the saying “it’s a dog eat dog world” comes to mind.
But if you are trying to be on your A game and get your brand to be the one everyone wants to buy then orange tone,
wet consistency and feel is not the way to go for me anyway.
______________
till nx time beauties.
Always do what makes you happy.
Thanks for reading don’t forget to click Like and follow if you want to read more
🙂
You can also follow me onMrs dimples sigMrs Dimples Beauty Channel.
instagram mrsdimples.beauty
twitter mrsdimpleshere

3 thoughts on “Do you really get what you pay for?

  1. Aww…. what a waste of 6.99! I think I am most weary of purchasing foundation. If it doesn’t work and just sits on your vanity or in your drawer you catch yourself having a conversation with it… “Sigh, what am I going to do with you…?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

